About Nesta

Nesta is an innovation foundation. For us, innovation means turning bold ideas into reality and changing lives for the better. We use our expertise, skills and funding in areas where there are big challenges facing society.

Project team

Ricky Bhargava, Nesta

Nishita Dewan, Nesta

Richard Duffy, Nesta

Tris Dyson, Nesta

Davina Fell, Nesta

Orpa Haque, Nesta

John Laughlin, Nesta

Kathy Nothstine, Nesta

Danny Scott-Rockel, Nesta

Olivier Usher, Nesta

Ieva Vysniauskaite, Nesta

Research and analysis support

Richard Batty, Science Practice

Ben Evans, PwC

Ana Florescu, Science Practice

Aran Shaunak, Science Practice

Andrea Wong, Science Practice

Magdalena Kuenkel, Centre for Public Impact

Guy Miscampbell, WPI Economics

Jenny Seow, Centre for Public Impact


Emma Harvey, Seven Consultancy

Amy Williams, Seven Consultancy

Flying High judging panel

Louis Barson, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Eamonn Beirne, Department for Transport

Andrew Carter, Centre for Cities

Andrew Clark, Royal Academy of Engineering

Tessa Darley, Innovate UK Knowledge Transfer Network

Stacey Gillett, Bloomberg Philanthropies

Gavin Goudie, Blue Bear Systems Research

Nikos Pronios, Innovate UK

Dr Alice Stitt, Aerospace Technology Institute

Wendy Welsh, Network Rail

Mark Westwood, Transport Systems Catapult

Task force members


City lead - John O’Hare, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Technical Lead - Matthew Greaves, Drones on Demand

David Cawthray, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Cllr Alex Ross-Shaw, City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Steve James , City of Bradford Metropolitan District Council

Ian Hudson, UAV Hive

Professor Fun Hu, University of Bradford

Professor Rami Qahwaji, University of Bradford

Professor Rob Richardson, University of Leeds

Dr Bilal Kaddouh, University of Leeds


City lead - Gareth Sumner, Transport for London

Technical lead - Prof. Roy Kalawsky, Loughborough University London

Technical lead - Dr.Simon Pomeroy, Loughborough University London

Transport for London

Greater London Authority

City of London Corporation

City of London Police

Digital Greenwich


London Ambulance Service

London Borough of Newham

London Borough of Lambeth

London Borough of Southwark

London Councils

London Fire Brigade

London First

London Legacy Development Corporation

Loughborough University London

Metropolitan Police Service

The Open University

University College London

Transport for West Midlands

City lead - Lucy Gosling, Transport for West Midlands

Technical lead - Dr. Dale Richards, Coventry University

Transport for West Midlands, part of the West Midlands Combined Authority

Coventry University

Birmingham City University

West Midlands Police

West Midlands Fire Service

Special thanks to:

Altitude Angel



Birmingham Airport

Birmingham City Council

Birmingham Sight Loss Council

City of Wolverhampton Council

Coventry Airport

Coventry City Council

Drone Defence

Dudley Metropolitan Borough Council

Greater Birmingham and Solihull LEP

Institute of Local Government Studies (INLOGOV), University of Birmingham

Loughborough University

Midland Metro Alliance

Mott Macdonald

Network Rail

Newman University

Nottingham Trent University


Rockwell Collins

Satellite Applications Catapult

Transport Delivery Committee, West Midlands


Walsall Metropolitan Borough Council


City lead - Derek Whyte, Preston City Council

Technical lead - Dr. Darren Ansell, University of Central Lancashire

Andy Walker, Lancashire County Council

Dave Severns-Jones, Dave Severns-Jones Photography

Katherine Ashton, Preston City Council

Gordon Smith, North West Aerospace Alliance

Peter Thomas, University of Central Lancashire

John Mills, University of Central Lancashire


City lead - Roger Gardner, University of Southampton

City lead - Pete Boustred, Southampton City Council

Technical lead - Prof. Jim Scanlan, University of Southampton

Ian Steane, Southampton City Council

PC Andrew Sparshott, Hampshire Constabulary

Robert Whitehouse, Tekever

Stuart Jauncey, Balfour Beatty

Mike Oliver, Thales

Chris Meayers-Norkett, University Hospital Southampton

Wendy Perera,Isle of Wight Council

Rob Watson, Hampshire County Council

Alan Robinson, Smart-Ports

Andy Billings, AB Ports

Julian Glyn-Owen, Generative Parametrics

Gareth Giles, University of Southampton

Aleks Kowalski, Consortiq

Paul Rigby, Consortiq

Mark Watson, NATS

Gerry Corbett, Civil Aviation Authority

Gavin Wishart, Frazer-Nash Consultancy

Brett Trafford, Fawley Waterside

Dan Townsend, Southampton Airport Ltd

Rod Self, University of Southampton

Special thanks to

Prof. Iain Gray, Cranfield University

James Southall, Hexegic

Sophie O’Sullivan, Civil Aviation Authority

Paul Febvre, Satellite Applications Catapult

James Bell, Department for Transport

Gavin Goudie, Blue Bear Systems Research

Graham Brown, ARPAS-UK

Sue Wolfe, ARPAS-UK

Martin Brooks, Qinetiq

Kate Chandler, Synthesys

Mike Gadd, Altitude Angel

Neil Kidd, Altitude Angel

Nick Rogers, Sky Futures

Phillip Binks, Altitude Angel

Tom Self, Wright Acoustics

Wolfgang Schuster, Atkins

Wirth Research

Rockwell Collins

VTOL Technologies



Studio Graphene

Jason Andrews Photography

Green Doe Graphic Design

UK Drone Industry Action Group

Deran Garabedian

Xan Goetzee-Barral